New PinchukArtCentre’s website
Try now
Opening hours

Tuesday through Sunday from 12:00 until 21:00
Closed Monday
Admission is Free

Main pageNewsA Main Prize Winner of the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 to be Announced at the Award Ceremony on December 6, in Kyiv, Ukraine

A Main Prize Winner of the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 to be Announced at the Award Ceremony on December 6, in Kyiv, Ukraine

1 December 2014

On December 6, 2014, at 20:00 (EET), the PinchukArtCentre will host the third Award Ceremony of the Future Generation Art Prize – a major international competition for artists up to 35 established by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation.

The respected international jury consisting of Francesco Bonami (Italy); Jan Fabre (Belgium); Doris Salcedo (Colombia); Eckhard Schneider (Ukraine); Bisi Silva (Nigeria); Adam Szymczyk (Poland); Philip Tinari (China) will come to Kyiv to choose and announce the winner of the main prize who will receive a generous $100, 000 award ($60,000 in cash and $40,000 toward production of a new work).

Following the decision by the jury members, additional $20,000 will be allotted to fund artist-in-residency program to the special prize winners (up to 5 artists).

Exhibition of the 21 shortlisted artists for the third edition of the Future Generation Art Prize is currently on show at the PinchukArtCentre and will be open until January 4, 2014. The exhibition presents newly produced works by the following artists and groups: Neïl Beloufa, 29 (France/ Algeria), Rossella Biscotti, 35 (Italy), James Bridle, 33 (UK), Kudzanai Chiurai 33 (Zimbabwe), Cécile B. Evans, 31 (USA/Belgium), Aslan Gaisumov, 23 (Russia), Ximena Garrido-Lecca, 34 (Peru), He Xiangyu, 27 (China), Jia Aili, 34 (China), Nikita Kadan, 31 (Ukraine), Zhanna Kadyrova, 32 (Ukraine), Mauricio Limón, 34 (Mexico), Adrian Melis, 28 (Cuba), Nástio Mosquito, 32 (Angola), Carlos Motta, 36 (Colombia), Pilar Quinteros, 26 (Chile), Jon Rafman, 32 (Canada), Cally Spooner, 31 (UK), Allyson Vieira, 35 (USA), GCC (Arabian Gulf region) and Public Movement (Israel). 

The 20 shortlisted artists represent 17 different countries. They have been selected from more than 5,500 applications received from 148 countries spread across all continents through the open and democratic online-application procedure. The artists were nominated by 7 members of the Selection Committee, competent and global art-professionals nominated by the Jurors of the Prize.

The 21st nominee for the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 is Zhanna Kadyrova, the winner of the PinchukArtCentre Prize 2013, a national contemporary art prize awarded to young Ukrainian artists up to 35.

In 2010, a Brazilian artist Cinthia Marcelle was the first person to win the Main Prize; Mircea Nicolae from Romania was the only artist to be awarded Special Prize. In 2012 Lynette Yiadom-Boakye from UK became the Main Prize winner; according to the decision of the Jury five artists received Special Prize namely Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil), Micol Assael (Italy), Ahmet Ögüt (Turkey), Rayyane Tabet (Lebanon), and Marwa Arsanios (Lebanon).